My Adventure is Just Beginning!

If you missed the news… I was officially selected as the 2014 Iditarod Teacher on the Trail™!  I was notified in April (you can read all the press releases on the News page) and I officially will begin my duties in just a few weeks at the Iditarod Summer Camp for Teachers. My students were in my classroom when I “got the call.”  It was so funny because when I  Skyped them from Alaska, Tucker, one of my students, told me that when they called to tell me if I’d won I wouldn’t be able to tell them right away because I would be on the phone.  So he suggested that I jump up and down if it was a yes so they would know.  Well – I must have jumped a lot, because they started screaming so loudly that teachers from nearby rooms came running and I had to go outside to hear the rest of my phone call.  When I came back in they were doing a conga line around the classroom chanting “Teacher on the Trail! Teacher on the Trail!  Teacher on the Trail!”  I wish I had it on video!

Don’t you just LOVE my “official” portrait?  It was taken by Jeff Schultz who is the official Iditarod photographer. You can see more of his Iditarod work here.  The puppy is Breve and she belongs to musher Eric Rogers.  She was so sweet!  She was so nervous – apparently coming to the photo shoot was her first time in the dog truck, so she was a little shaky when we started, but she quickly calmed down.  Aren’t her eyes beautiful?  I usually don’t like photos of myself – but this one is a keeper!

publicity vertical

As the Iditarod Teacher on the Trail™ I will begin posting to this blog in just a few weeks!  So, this blog will be quiet until the next chapter…. I hope you will go over to the new blog and I hope you will follow along on this grand adventure!!!  I’ll be posting lessons and ideas every month leading up to the race and then I’ll be blogging there from the trail!  From the Trail! Can you BELIEVE IT!?!?!?!

Thanks to everyone for their support!  I never could have made it this far without you!!!

See you on the trail!

Jen

 

Leave a Reply

